A little early for Easter egg dying but…

I got a winter share from my Vegetable CSA at

http://www.roxburyfarm.com

and it has been great…except for the beets. I have never seen so many beets in my life! I actually like beets but I cannot eat that many before feeling like I will turn pink and explode.

I came up with a good use for my beets that doesn’t exactly waste them, but doesn’t require that I eat them all either. I use them as dye. They make the most beautiful color when boiled in water and a splash of white vinegar. For Valentines Day, I used them in mashed potatoes to make them pink. They were a hit!

Peel and halve your beets and boil them with just enough water to cover them. I used about 5 medium beets and ended up with about 3 cups of dying liquid. When the beets are soft (about 20-30 minutes) and the water is pink, add about 1/4 cup of white vinegar and let the mixture cool. Drain and discard the beets and reserve the liquid.  Store the liquid in glass jars in the fridge until you are ready to use it. If you plan on dying food (like mashed potat0es) just skip the vinegar part. I used the beet water for pink pancakes and they were adorable.

Below you can see last year’s easter egg dyes. The yellow is a tbsp of turmeric boiled in about 1 cup of water and a splash of white vinegar.

The blue is frozen blueberries boiled in water + vinegar

The tan is coffee (can be made as strong or weak as you like) + vinegar

The red is red onion peels boiled in water + vinegar

Note: Another fun way to use these food dyes is in the snow…fill a spray bottle and paint the snow in your yard with different, harmless colors. If your child is like mine (and hates the cold, wind, winter air, etc), bring the snow inside on a baking sheet and make an indoor snow painting.

Enjoy! xo, SW and Sweet P

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

