Spinach Dumplings in bone broth

 

Image

 

Jamie Oliver’s Great Britain “Spinach Dumplings”

Jamie uses the metric system so I will decode the recipe for all of you. He serves these spinach dumplings on top of Oxtail Stew which I’m sure would have been great too but I think it went really well with this brothy vegetable soup. This recipe makes enough for 2 big batches of soup. I cut the dough in half and froze the half I wasn’t using.

Put 200g (about half of a big box) of organic baby spinach leaves into your food processor and pulse until finely chopped

Add 3 tbsp butter and pulse

In a separate bowl combine (or have your toddler do this step) 500 g (roughly 4 cups but check your bag of flour…they are weighed in grams so you might have a 500g bag of flour) of SELF RISING flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp sea salt

1 tsp english DRY mustard powder (Colemans is great)

A few grates of fresh nutmeg

 

Image

 

Add the flour mixture to the spinach mixture and pulse until you have fine crumbs. I added the flour in 2 batches bc I didn’t think I would fit it all in but I did :).

Add between 100-200 ml of cold water a bit at a time and pulse until a loose but sticky dough comes together.

Turn the ‘dough’ out onto a floured surface and knead until it comes together (~1 minute.)

 

Image

 

Roll your dough into a long sausage shape and cut it into about 15 pieces. You can cut it as small or large as you want. I made 15 pieces for this soup but you could easily make mini-dumplings for more of a meatball size. Pippa helped me with this step…her little hands are perfect for making dumplings!You can make them round or leave them flat on top like I did…it’s all personal preference. I figured they would toast up a little better with a flat top so that’s why I left them but feel free to make round dumplings.

 

 

Image

 

Drop them into your hot soup. I used a broth like this one Perfect Fall Afternoon Vegetable Stock. In this particular soup, I used the bones that I had from my free range organic turkey from Thanksgiving to make stock. I chop fresh veggies: celery, carrots, onion, sweet potato and add frozen peas and thyme and let it simmer for a while on the stove. You can use whatever soup recipe you like. These dumplings would be nice on top of beef stew, a creamy chicken soup, etc.

Anyway, drop them in and put the soup pot into the oven at 350 (lid OFF) for about 30 minutes or until the top is toasty. The top of the dumpling will be toasted and the underside (cooked in the soup) will be soft and more like a Matzah Ball. If you prefer the dumplings fully steamed, rather than toasted on top, you can leave them to simmer on the stove for the same amount of time ~30 minutes.

Image

Add a shaving of peccorino and a crack of black pepper, serve it to your family and enjoy!

Sweet P gave this a rating of 5/5 and ate about 5 dumplings!

XO, SW and Sweet P

 

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spinach Dumplings in bone broth

  1. Ani says:

    I’ll stick with veggie broth to keep it vegetarian haha bu t those dumplings look awesome!

Leave a Reply

