My Favorite Turkey Farm and the politics of turkey farming

Don’t forget small business Saturday today people!

Sweet P's Kitchen- #beautifulfood

For those of you that inquired about my turkeys, the farm is called Arch River Farm and it is in Milbrook, NY. Their website is:

http://www.archriverfarm.com/

They raised about 100 birds this year as well as pigs, cows, and some chickens. During growing season, they come to the White Plains Farmer’s Market and Milbrook Farmer’s Market. Their animals are pasture fed and raised “in comfort” which affords the best possible products.

Here is a brief bit about the difference between heritage birds and commercially raised turkeys. I am calling them butterballs but generally any supermarket brand will be of the same variety: the Broad Breasted White. This breed is owned by 3 multi-national corporations and has caused near extinction to every other breed of turkeys. Thanks to conservationists and local family farms, the heritage breeds are still around but they produce roughly 25,000/year as opposed to the broad breasted white’s…

View original post 741 more words

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

