Slow Cooker Bacon Jam

Lucky me, I have been given the opportunity to guest blog for the Queen, Miss Sweet P herself! I also love to cook, though I admit to turning to SW and Sweet P for answers to every question from “What should I put on my pizza tonight”? to “I burned the s**t out of my cast iron pan, how the world do i clean it?!?” She is always there with the right answer-which is why she is THE QUEEN. (Even though Sweet P gives me the title…sometimes).

That being said, I have a few special tricks up my sleeve that I am really excited to share with you here.  #1 Bacon Jam- enough said, right?

My world pretty much changed after experiencing bacon jam for the first time. I work for a wonderful restaurant in Carroll Gardens, Brooklyn. They truly care about the ingredients they put into their food and source everything as local as possible. Right up your alley, Sweet P. I haven’t been there long, so hadn’t  the opportunity to try everything just yet. On a whim my husband and I decided to go for lunch, and I wanted to try something new…the patty melt. Oh the patty melt. Hudson Valley beef, Brooklyn rye bread, Vermont cheddar, and bacon jam…bacon WHAT? Bacon heaven was more like it. Without the struggle of picking the perfect all encompassing bite- burger, bacon, cheese, it was just all there. The smooth sweet, salty, bacon-ey goodness was just there. In every bite. Oh My Deliciousness. I had no choice but to try it at home.
 
And here comes Martha. SW I know Sweet P says you are the Queen, but then who does Martha get to be, the Pope? I googled. I compared stars. I read reviews…and I saw the words SLOW COOKER!! So I tried it. Martha Stewart’s Slow Cooker Bacon Jam.
1 1/2 lbs bacon
2 medium yellow onions, diced
3 cloves of garlic, peeled and smashed
1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar
1/2 cup cider vinegar
1/4 cup pure maple syrup
3/4 brewed coffee

Cut bacon into one inch pieces. Sautee over med-high heat until bacon is slightly crispy. Remove bacon from pan. Drain fat, save 2 tablespoons (I strain through a coffee filter into a jar for later use).
Saute onions and garlic in bacon fat until translucent (about 6 minutes). Add vinegar, brown sugar, maple syrup, and coffee. Bring to a boil, stirring and scraping bits off the bottom of the pan.

Combine pan liquid and bacon in slow cooker, set on high and cook uncovered for 4 hours, stirring as needed. When liquid becomes syrupy, either pulse with an immersion blender, or transfer to a food processor. blend until bacon is really pulverized.  Transfer to jars and store up to 4 weeks (good luck lasting 4 days)!
 
See notes for lots of of advice:
I originally served this on homemade biscuits but realized plain old white toast tasted even better…and was a whole lot less work.

An over easy egg on toast with bacon jam is just ridiculous. Please try it.
 
The first time I tried this recipe I used fancy, expensive bacon. The second time I went to the butcher where they sell “bacon ends” at $2.99/lb. I cut them a bit thinner before sauteing, but totally worth the price!  Do it if you can. Otherwise, definitely go with a thick cut bacon.
 
Taste it as it’s cooking…I loved tasting (and smelling) the change from sour vinegar to sweet smokey jam.

Oh, a suggestion from my boss- who loves that patty melt as much as I do- try making it with bourbon! MAGIC!
Please try it, and have fun with it! We are currently trying bacon jam kolacky (pronounced ko-lach-ky- a polish cookie that can be filled with anything)! Will keep you posted on its success!!
Thanks for tasting 🙂

Sweet P’s favorite auntie!

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slow Cooker Bacon Jam

  1. Siobhan says:

    Update on the cookies- tasted delicious, but more like an appetizer than dessert…think the best pig in a blanket you’ve ever had.

Leave a Reply

