Ravioli with Ground Lamb, Carrots, and Kale

This is my 60th post on this blog! Wow!! It is really hard work keeping up a blog…I am impressed by all you bloggers!

Sweet P now knows the word ‘blog’ and asks me if I am going to blog about certain things. It is all a process, hopefully people are enjoying of this blog and in the process, maybe learning a few things about eating locally and utilizing your local CSA.

I had some ground lamb from our Lamb Share from Roxbury farm. I planned on making burgers but didn’t have time so I decided to make a quick pasta sauce out of it and throw it over some cheesy ravioli. Cook ravioli in boiling water until it floats (reserve 1 cup of cooking water). Toss with finished sauce.

IMG_7722

I browned the lamb in a skillet and then removed it to a plate with a slotted spoon. There was a lot of fat left in the pan so I discarded about half and left ~2 tbsp in the hot pan.

I chopped 2 carrots and a handful of garlic cloves

IMG_7723

IMG_7724

I added them to the hot oil and sprinkled with a bit of salt and a pinch of cinnamon. I cooked them for about 8 minutes until they were starting to soften and then I added the chopped kale.

IMG_7730

I added the lamb back in and tossed in the cooked ravioli. The kale wilts with the heat of the sauce/ravioli. Thin the sauce out with a couple of splashes of the ravioli water if necessary.

Serve with a dollop of ricotta and a crack of black pepper.

IMG_7734

Sweet P loves lamb. This lamb from roxbury farm is bursting with flavor and sweetness. She eats it with a spoon!

Enjoy, Xo, SW and Sweet P

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes, Kid Friendly, Sunday Dinner, Weeknight meals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ravioli with Ground Lamb, Carrots, and Kale

  1. Lynn dee says:

    This sounds great- very clever to the the lamb more as a gloving than in big pieces

  2. Lynn dee says:

    Crazy auto correct! Use The Lamb as a Flavoring!

Leave a Reply

