Meatless Monday- Roasted Veggies and Green Salad

 

Image

 

This poster is hanging in a friend’s kitchen in South Londonderry, Vt and I absolutely LOVE it! I snapped this pic of it in July and I look back on it often. I couldn’t wait to use it in a post.

That weekend back in July my sisters and I were on a girls weekend away (without Sweet P!!!) We hit up the local farmers market and let me tell you, Vermonters take their farmers markets SERIOUSLY! We had so much fun tasting everything and shopping for jewelery as well as produce. I had planned to make dinner for everyone based on what was available at the market and this is what I found:

 

Image

 

The mushroom guy was there so I bought some oyster mushrooms…how gorgeous!!!!

Image

 

I made a quick sauce out of butter browned mushrooms, white wine, and (if I am being completely honest) bacon. If you are observing Meatless Mondays, just forget I said that 😉

I tossed some locally made pasta with the delicious sauce and topped it with Vermont cheese curds.

 

 

Image

 

I drizzled those perfect purple and yellow carrots with olive oil and salt and roasted them at 450 for 25ish minutes-finishing with a splash of white wine, fresh thyme, and honey.

Something about roasting vegetables makes them more hearty and satisfying than just eating them raw. Served alongside a big green salad full of fresh local ingredients, and possibly topped with a bit of local cheese, roasted vegetables can be a full meal.

Image

 

Salad was fresh arugula, cucumbers and local tomatoes. We made a bacon vinaigrette (obv forget this on meatless mondays!)

 

Image

We had the best time, toasting to vermont, to each other, and to life! I miss Vermont!

xo, SW

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meatless Monday- Roasted Veggies and Green Salad

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday | ecomomdirectory

Leave a Reply

