The Best Way to Show You Care…a homecooked meal

I feel helpless when a friend is going through a hard time. I wish I could take some of the burden from them or make it all go away. When I hear about a friend going through something, I cook for them. It makes me feel better and hopefully it helps them in some way too.

This is called “Get Better Soon-Roasted Chicken and Veggies”

1 whole roaster chicken (3-4 lbs)

A couple pounds of assorted root vegetables like carrots, sweet potatoes, onions, and white potatoes

Fresh or dried herbs

1 lemon

olive oil

2 tbsp butter

salt and pepper

Image

Clean and chop your veggies roughly into the same size pieces and lay in a single layer on a rimmed baking sheet. Toss with olive oil and salt

Image

Set aside while you prep the chicken. Start by removing the back. Place breast side down on the cutting board and locate the back bone (it runs down the middle.) Cut down either side of the back bone with kitchen shears and then the other side. It should not be too hard to remove.

Image

Turn the chicken over (breast side up) and flatten it with your hands the best you can. It helps me to smack it with a heavy cast iron pan :).

Cube the butter and place a few bits under the skin of the chicken. Drizzle with olive oil and whatever herbs you are using. I used fresh parsley because that is what I had but thyme, rosemary, oregano would work. Squeeze the lemon over the chicken.

Image

Lay the chicken directly on top of the veggies and put a cast iron pan on top of the chicken.

Roast at 450 for about 1 hour.

Image

The vegetables cook in the chicken’s juices and are extra delicious for it!

Image

Serve warm with an open heart and a bottle of wine :). Be ready to listen or to be ignored. You are giving to give, not to be thanked or honored. The giving alone makes you feel better and should help the person who needs it.

This is a nice drop off meal because you can leave instructions to warm it without ruining it. You can reheat at 350 just until warm-around 20 mins.

xo, SW and Sweet P

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes, Sunday Dinner and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

