Meatless Monday-Ratatouille’s Ratatouille

I know I am late to the game but how great is that movie? The message is so wonderful and unexpected. You should be yourself and not care about who will judge you. Do/cook what makes you feel good and everything else is gravy.

The recipe that inspired Remy’s final dish “Ratatouille” was featured in the NYTimes as “Confit Byaldi”. I tried the real thing (except subbing green peppers for red and yellow peppers since I didn’t have any from my CSA. I also subbed champagne vinegar in the vinaigrette since I prefer the lighter color but balsamic would have been tasty too.)

This was time consuming especially since my mandolin was playing up, but I managed to get it done on a lazy and cold afternoon. The result was quite delicious and very earthy. I think next time I would make an effort to get the red and yellow pepper for their sweetness.

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/06/13/dining/131rrex.html

This NYTimes recipe doesn’t have any pictures but I did my best to follow their instructions to the letter. P loved layering the “green then yellow then red then purples.” I confess she refused to eat the final product…more for me!

Image

so pretty, right!!!??

 

Image

You can add some goat cheese or peccorino if you want.

Bon Appetit! xo, SW and Sweet P

 

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meatless Monday-Ratatouille’s Ratatouille

  1. Pingback: Ratatouille | Smoke and Thyme

Leave a Reply

