Kids Can Cook Continued

Kids can really surprise you if you let them. Yesterday was Halloween, aka the biggest sugar binge we have all year. It was amazing to watch the way sugar effected sweet P. She was having sooooo much fun and I loved watching her spin around and delight in each piece of candy…Until she got crazy eyes and started to short circuit. Their bodies are so tiny and therefore they react really dramatically to such a sugar binge but our bodies are doing the same thing. For now, the candy is hidden away and she hasn’t asked for it yet. However, she did suggest that we go trick or treating again tonight. 🙂

To put a little balance back in our lives, P and I visited the Dobbs Ferry Farm Stand to shop for some fresh, healthy snacks. Sweet P insisted on having her own basket so I left her to it. There was nothing we really NEEDED so I decided to step back and let her go for it.

She loaded her baby into the basket and off she went. She picked:

Image

3 fairy tale pumpkins

4 parsnips (which she called white carrots)

8-10 green beans (enough to fit in one fist)

a handful of cherry tomatoes (I grabbed the quart)

2 zucchini

2 yellow squash

4 (yes 4!!) heads of garlic

1 brussel sprout

and an eggplant.

Now, I may be reading waaaay too much into this but funnily enough, this morning we watched Ratatouille. It wasn’t until I started typing this that I thought, “Did she just pick out basically all of the ingredients for ratatouille???”

Image

I’m sad I didn’t get a picture of her entirely full basket (or her dragging it!)

I ❤ her so much!

Coming soon…ratatouille, sweet P style!

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes, Kid Friendly and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

