Meatless Mondays

How do you all feel about Meatless mondays?

http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2013/10/21/239126655/meatless-monday-movement-gets-more-veggies-on-the-menu?utm_content=socialflow&utm_campaign=nprfacebook&utm_source=npr&utm_medium=facebook

Personally, I find it easier to go meatless at least 3 days a week. Since I have committed to buying organic, grass-fed, yadda yadda meat, I can only afford to eat it maybe 2x a week. That is fine with me. My husband would prefer meat all the time but he doesn’t complain (too much.)

Tonight, we are having a veggie lasagna, a staple in this house. It uses up a ton of CSA veggies and is great for leftovers. Sweet P loves any combo of pasta and cheese so we are good there :).

My sauce is a simple tomato sauce with onions, carrots, peppers, and whatever veg I have on hand. I like to use a whole milk ricotta (Trader Joe’s is awesome) and a little Fresh Mozzarella. It takes me about 10 minutes to put together once I have the sauce made. You can make the sauce ahead of time and freeze in quart size containers. This uses about 1.5 quarts.

Sauce:

2 onions chopped

3 carrots- chopped

3 peppers- chopped (i use these when i have them, they add a nice sweetness to the sauce but you could easily leave them out.)

1 cup wine (white is better but I have definitely used red when necessary-it just makes the sauce very dark)

2-3 28oz cans of whole plum tomatoes

herbs (I like a bay leaf and some fresh time)-tied with kitchen twine and removed at the end

garlic- as much as you like (i like about 6-8 cloves finely diced

In a dutch oven, Heat onions, carrots, and peppers until softened a bit. Salt each layer…this makes a lot of sauce so don’t be shy with the salt.

Add your garlic and cook for about a minute

Add wine and your herbs

Cook for a few minutes until the wine is bubbly and fragrant

Add your tomatoes and taste (more salt and pepper)

Put your pot in the stove covered loosely (so steam can escape but your oven doesn’t look like a crime scene) at 325. Leave it for about 2 hours. Remove the herbs and taste for salt.

Lasagna-

1 box no boil lasagna noodles (Trader Joes)

1 container of whole milk ricotta (also trader joe’s or fresh is fine too)

1 bunch of spinach

1 ball of fresh mozzarella

Wilt spinach and drain

combine with ricotta and season

IMG_6717

Layer 1-2 cups of sauce on the bottom

then noodles- don’t overlap them, they will expand in the oven (in a 9×13 pan I use 3 noodles)

Add a layer of the spinach ricotta mixture

more noodles

more sauce

more ricotta

etc. until you get to the end of your ricotta.

Top layer gets sauce and mozzarella

IMG_6718

Bake at 375 covered for 45 minutes

uncover and bake for another 15 minutes

IMG_6725

enjoy, and let me know what you think of meatless mondays…should we do more???

xo, SW and Sweet P

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes, Kid Friendly, Meatless Mondays, Vegetarian, Weeknight meals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

