My favorite Kale Salad

Image

My aunt Patty told me about this salad a few years ago. She usually gets it at a deli in Piermont, NY and the guy behind the counter was kind enough to give her the dressing recipe. We are forever grateful! This salad is delicious for any event but especially delicious in the early fall when carrots, cauliflower, and kale are all readily available at local farmers markets.

Ingredient List:

2 bunches of curly Kale finely chopped

1 head of cauliflower finely chopped

4-6 carrots shaved into ribbons1 bunch of scallions finely chopped

Candied Pecans (see https://sweetpskitchen.wordpress.com/2013/10/25/candied-cinnamon-pecans/)

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

 

Arrange the chopped kale in a wide dish (I use a really big salad bowl or a lasagna pan)

Sprinkle the oil and vinegar over the kale and massage it with your hands until the kale is a bit mushy and wet…usually 2-5 minutes

 

Layer the salad: kale on the bottom, then cauliflower, then carrots, scallions, and pecans on top. I like to dress it about an hour before serving.

Image

(this is a triple batch for a party I catered)

 

Kale salad dressing:

2tbsp agave nectar
2tbsp lemon juice
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup tamari
1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
salt and pepper to taste
combine all ingredients and shake. This dressing keeps really well in a mason jar in the fridge.

You’re welcome, SW and Sweet P

 

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My favorite Kale Salad

  1. Jessie says:

    Another favorite

Leave a Reply

