CSA Cleanout quiche

A quiche has been a fail safe for me during my summer CSA. When I get a ton of veggies I make a pasta, a pesto, a pizza, and a quiche. You can flavor a quiche with almost anything and whip it up in an hour. The formula is;

a pie crust (https://sweetpskitchen.wordpress.com/2013/10/20/pie-crust-recipe-pumpkin-pie-to-follow/)

a dozen eggs, a bit of half and half, a bit of cheese, and whatever veg you have on hand.

This combo is particularly delicious and it is what I had for dinner tonight: Cheddar, Sweet Potato, and Dandelion Green Quiche

Start with a Pie Crust-I typically take my pie crust out of the freezer and put it into the fridge the day before I plan to make a quiche. If I forget, I take the pie crust out and leave it on the counter for an hour or so until it defrosts (not ideal, but it works.)

Preheat oven to 425

Beat 12 eggs and 3/4 cup half and half in a mixing bowl (while wearing goggles and a tutu obviously)

Image

Add ~4 oz of cheese (I am guessing but basically just a few hunks off of the vermont cheddar I have on hand)

Add 1 tsp salt and a dash of pepper

Set aside while you steam the dandelion greens (this can be subbed with anything from spinach greens to eggplant)

Image

Pretty, aren’t they?

Clean and Chop them roughly and add to a hot pan (don’t dry them-the water will help them steam quickly) until they looks something like this:

Image

Drain them over a colander and squeeze the water out of them. Add to the cheese and egg mixture.
Sprinkle with 1/2 tsp of nutmeg

Next, roll out your dough. If you don’t make your own pie crust (you should)

https://sweetpskitchen.wordpress.com/2013/10/20/pie-crust-recipe-pumpkin-pie-to-follow/

I highly recommend Trader Joe’s frozen pie crust. It is quick, easy and delicious but not as good as my crust. The picture below is 1/2 a recipe from my pie crust.

Image

Roll out your dough on a floured surface and put the crust in a cast iron skillet or your pie pan. Trim the edges if you want.

Image

Place a layer of thinly sliced sweet potatoes on the crust

Image

Pour the egg mixture in

Image

Bake at 425 for 45 minutes- 1 hr (Depending on your oven-just touch the center to see if it is set)

Let it rest for 10 minutes before slicing.

Image

Slice and enjoy. This feeds 2 adults and 1 hungry child for at least dinner plus some for lunch. If I add bacon to this recipe, it doesn’t last as long :).

Sweet P’s rating – She ate 1 big slice and exclaimed “I love pie” so I’m going with 5/5 especially since she can help make it

xo, SW and Sweet P

 

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CSA Cleanout quiche

  1. janine says:

    This looks delicious!!!!

Leave a Reply

