Thrifty Thursday II- White Pizza with Pesto

I may have to make a separate section of just pizzas I love them so much! They make for a super quick weeknight meal and they are super inexpensive. It is a great way to use up veggies. For this pizza, I made a pesto first but you could always use a store bought pesto ( Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods both sell fresh pesto).

Pesto:

 a hunk of peccorino (you can find the ends at whole foods for a few bucks) -$3

Bunch of fresh Basil/Parsley/Anything Green – $2

1/2 cup Olive Oil (pantry item I hope!)

The Juice of 1 lemon- $.75

2 Cloves of Garlic peeled- $. 75

A handful of nuts (whatever you like bought in bulk at Whole Foods)- $2

Blend ingredients in a blender (or chop finely with a knife). Pesto Freezes really well but also keeps nicely in the fridge. One batch of pesto is enough for 2 meals easily. This pizza recipe only uses a few tablespoons.

Pizza dough- (I like Trader Joe’s)- $2

Whole Milk Ricotta (trust me…it’s worth it)- $3

Half a ball of fresh mozzarella- $3

Oil a baking sheet and Preheat your oven to 450.

Spread your pizza dough on a floured surface…I like a rectangular shape but do what you like. Top with pesto, dollops of ricotta, and mozzarella. Bake for 15 minutes or until your crust is crispy and your cheese is melty. Sprinkle with sea salt and a dash of whatever herb you used in your pesto for garnish…and enjoy with a glass of cold white wine.

Image

Sweet P adores pizza of any kind. 5/5 for life

Frugally yours, SW and Sweet P

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

