Ginger Sesame Noodles with Sriracha

I spent a lot of my babysitting money on Cold Sesame Noodles when I was in High School…one might call me a Cold Sesame Noodle Connoisseur! This is a great, easy recipe that uses mostly things found in an ordinary pantry or at the very least, your nearest Trader Joe’s.

1 lb Whole Wheat Spaghetti (if you want to get fancy, you can use Soba Noodles)

3/4 cup peanut butter

1/3 cup Soy Sauce or Tamari

3 tbsp Rice Wine Vinegar

4 tbsp sesame oil

Splash of agave (2 tbsp ish)

1/4 cup Hoisin Sauce

a 1 inch hunk of ginger

1-2 cloves of garlic

Warm water or chicken stock to thin to your liking- I used about 1/2 cup

Veggies- I like raw veggies in this but feel free to cook them before hand. You should have about 6 cups of raw veggies, whatever you choose to use. I used 2 bell peppers, a jalapeno, carrots, half of a cabbage, some radishes, and celery.

Sesame seeds (toasted)

1 bunch of scallions chopped

IMG_6058

Boil your pasta/soba noodles according to the factory directions. When you drain them, give them a rinse under cold water. This will help cool them but also get rid of the starchiness, allowing your sauce to stay thin and runny.

In your food processor or blender combine the 3/4 cup peanut butter, 1/3 cup Soy Sauce or Tamari, 3 tbsp Rice Wine Vinegar,  4 tbsp sesame oil, agave, and 1/4 cup hoisin sauce, the ginger, and the garlic. Add warm water/chicken stock until it is the consistency of syrup (a little runny but will coat a spoon.)

Toss your chopped vegetables in the sauce and combine with your cooked and cooled pasta. Garnish with scallions and sesame seeds.

1385676_10100141005266276_1593909035_n

Drizzle with sriracha if you like spice. I left it off for Sweet P and she gave it a 4/5

Note: Chopped chicken or shrimp would be lovely in these…or tofu for the veggies out there!

xo, SW and Sweet P

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes, Kid Friendly, lunch, Vegetarian, Weeknight meals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

