The mystery ingredient in action…Pumpkin Pie!

This recipe uses a roasted sugar pumpkin. I have been making pumpkin pie recipes with canned pumpkin for years. They are good too. The difference is very subtle but I do feel that using the sugar pumpkin gives the pie a nuttier, more squashy flavor. I did not blend my pumpkin into puree but rather, smush it with a fork. There were whole bits of roasted pumpkin in the final mixture, which i loved! This recipe is a basic pumpkin pie recipe but I try to avoid using canned milk products (evaporated milk/sweetened condensed, etc) so this uses half and half.

Best baked in my Pie Crust

1 sugar pumpkin

1 cup half and half

a splash of good vanilla (I like Trader Joe’s Bourbon Vanilla)

~3/4 cup packed brown sugar

2 large eggs (farm fresh please!)

a pinch of salt

1 tsp (ish) of cinnamon

A small pinch of nutmeg

a small pinch of ginger

A splash of bourbon (optional but tasty)

Cut the sugar pumpkin in two and remove seeds and stringy pulp like so:

(set seeds aside for Curry Pumpkin Seeds)

IMG_6038

Oil your baking sheet and place pumpkins cut side down. Roast at 400 for about 30 minutes or until the pumpkins are soft.

The skin will peel right off of them.

IMG_6041

Using one half of the pumpkin, mash the flesh in a large mixing bowl until it resembles a puree (not an exact science, just get it mushy.)

Lower your oven temp to 350

In a small saucepan, warm your half and half (do not boil) and add your spices. This infuses the cream with the spices.

IMG_6053

Let your cream mixture cool and add the sugar, salt, eggs, and your splash of bourbon and vanilla. Combine with fresh pumpkin.

Stir to combine. Pour into your Pie Crust which has been blind baked for 20 minutes. Bake for 55 minutes or until set (checking after 40 minutes for doneness.)

IMG_6063

( I love the look of a sloppy crust, but if you don’t…just trim it before you blind bake it.)

Allow your pie to cool for an hour or so and top with a dollop of creme fraiche. I love this combo because the pie is super sweet and the creme fraiche is tart so it cuts the sweetness.

IMG_6066

Can you see the little bits of pumpkin floating around? Squashtastic!

slice and serve (delighting in the flakiness of your crust!)

IMG_6069 IMG_6071

watch your 2 yo devour it with glee (while wearing a fairy costume)

IMG_6077 IMG_6073

Sweet P: “Mommy, I love creme fraiche” #truestory

I guess Sweet P’s rating is obvious: 5/5

Love and Pumpkins, SW and Sweet P, the fairy princess

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

