Pie Crust Recipe (pumpkin pie to follow)

I used a combo of recipes for this pie. I used to SWEAR that store bought Trader Joe’s pie crust was just as good (if not better) than homemade. I have a few things on my list of ‘may as well buy them at the store.’ Turns out I was way wrong about pie crust. Once I found a recipe that made it worth it, I haven’t looked back. I use a half butter half shortening dough and the texture and flavor is really rich and tasty. The recipe is as follows (adapted from http://www.smittenkitchen.com)

I make the crust first and the pie filling while the crust chills- This recipe makes 2 pie crusts but since I only needed one, I froze the other for later use (like tomorrow!)

Preheat oven to 350

3 cups all purpose flour (plus extra for dusting)

12 tbsp unsalted organic butter

8 tbsp shortening

3 tbsp sugar (i like a sweet crust)

1 tsp salt

IMG_6033

Pile everything into your food processor and pulse until it looks like this

IMG_6034

(pea sized crumbles-do not overmix!)

Turn the mixture into a large bowl. Add 8- 10 tbsp of ice cold water or until you can get your dough to look like this

IMG_6035

Turn your dough onto a floured surface and gather into a ball. You want to handle this as little as possible so as not to heat the butter/shortening. Split it in half and wrap each piece individually in plastic wrap. You will only need one crust for pumpkin pie so you can freeze the other…just make sure it is well wrapped.

Chill for at least 1 hour

Return cold dough to a floured surface and roll it out gently

IMG_6049

(I love that you can see flecks of butter in the crust)

I use my cast iron pan for pies and they turn out super awesome…I highly recommend cast iron!

IMG_6050 IMG_6051

You are supposed to chill this in the fridge for an hour. You are also supposed to trim the excess crust but honestly, that is my favorite part so I left it. You will see my final result has some droopy crust around the edges (which I don’t mind bc I eat those bits while the pie cools) but if you want the perfect looking pie, trim the edges of your crust.

Line the crust with aluminum foil and fill with pie weights (I used dried chick peas). Bake for 20 minutes.  This is called blind baking and it is just to firm up the crust. You do this with softer custard pies so the filling doesn’t make the crust too wet to cook.

IMG_6052

Let this cool for 30 minutes-ish.

Fill with your pumpkin pie custard and bake for an hour, or until fully set.

Enjoy, SW and Sweet P

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes, Dessert, Kid Friendly, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pie Crust Recipe (pumpkin pie to follow)

  1. Pingback: The mystery ingredient in action…Pumpkin Pie! | Sweet P's Kitchen- #beautifulfood

  2. Mairead O'Neill-McGovern says:

    Seriously the BEST pie crust I have ever eaten! I could eat it all by itself!

  3. Pingback: CSA Cleanout quiche | Sweet P's Kitchen- #beautifulfood

Leave a Reply

