My love affair with Chicken Thighs

Sweet P <3s Chicken Thighs!

IMG_3288

(I know…this is a rooster)

http://deadspin.com/how-to-barbecue-chicken-thighs-a-guide-for-people-who-5939738

I love love LOVE the article posted above. It is exactly how I feel about chicken thighs. To summarize: Why spend hundreds of dollars and hours of time to slave over a grass fed hunk of cow, when you can have delicious BBQd chicken thighs for pennies in 40 minutes? Also, he calls everyone assholes. I don’t think you are all assholes but…I have been trying to get people on the chicken thigh bandwagon for YEARS. Not only are chicken thighs 1/2 the price of their neighbors, the chicken breasts, but they are also far more delicious and nutritious! They have some dark meat and therefore more iron and more B12. They make a great food for babies since the meat shreds and gets very tender as opposed to the meat from chicken breast, which is dry and rubbery.

I have committed to eating organic, locally harvested meats whenever possible. I made this commitment not only for the health of my family, but also the health of our planet in mind. Because organic chicken is more expensive, I have had to look for other less expensive cuts and to cook with chicken less often. I am so glad I did this, because otherwise I would not have found chicken thighs and wings and legs!

IMG_2182

I love a good chicken curry made with boneless skinless thighs. The meat is so tender and it cooks up quickly.

IMG_2372

I will post that recipe soon, I promise! First I am going to give you my simplest chicken thigh recipe that I make ALLLLLL the time. I make it for guests, for monday night dinners, for lunches, etc. It is a simple formula; Chicken thighs (skin ON) roasted on high heat over vegetables. I don’t even have a picture of this recipe, because I have made it so many times, I don’t bother! It is peasant food but it is DELICIOUS…no apologies.

8 Skin ON chicken thighs (if you can find boneless, do it…otherwise refer to the video -there is only one bone don’t worry )How to debone a Chicken Thigh

1/4 cup olive oil

Coarse Kosher Salt and Pepper -to your liking…don’t be shy with the salt here!

Thyme (1 tbsp divided)

Potatoes- 1-2 potatoes per person-roughly chopped into wedges

Carrots-roughly chopped

Onions (any color but I love Red Onions in this)- quartered

A few cloves of garlic peeled and smashed

Preheat the oven to 450

Dry your thighs well with paper towels and toss with  half of the olive oil, salt and pepper, and half of the thyme

Toss potatoes, carrots, onion, and garlic in the rest of the olive oil and S + P and the rest of the thyme

Put the oiled vegetables on a baking dish

Arrange a wire rack over a baking sheet (with sides)

Place the chicken on top-skin side UP

Roast in the oven for 30-40 minutes. The skin will be crispy and browned and the veg will be cooking in olive oil and chicken fat…seriously awesome!

IMG_4925

Another favorite Chicken Thigh recipe is a knock off of Top Chef’s Michael Voltaggio’s chicken thighs. He does them sous vide and obviously I don’t have a sous vide machine (and I’m guessing neither do you!)

http://www.williams-sonoma.com/recipe/michael-voltaggio-chicken.html

The trick to Sousvide cooking is low and constant temperature which allows the meat to cook without losing any moisture. I tried my own version with chicken thighs and it came out really great.

Preheat oven to 275

Toss your deboned chicken thighs with olive oil, salt + pepper, and thyme

Line a baking sheet with parchment

Chicken thighs skin side down on parchment

Place a heavy cast Iron pan on top of the chicken thighs

Cook for 1.5-2 hours (turning halfway through and adding more oil if necessary)

Serve with Roasted Root Vegetables or a big Green Salad.

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes, Kid Friendly, lunch, Weeknight meals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

