BYO-Burrito

True Story: I was trying to type BYOB on my iphone when it autocorrected to ‘BYOBurrito.’ I imagined a clever apple employee cracking up behind a screen. Either that or I have been having way too many ‘burrito parties’! 

Image

(the latter is a real possibility)

Burritos and Quesadillas are great weeknight meals because you can fill them with anything you have in your fridge/pantry. I almost always have Trader Joe’s Organic black beans on my shelves and whole wheat tortillas in the freezer. I like to make veggie burritos but you can add whatever meat/protein you like.

This was last night’s dinner:

A cabbage and apple slaw with lemon dressing

Image

Black beans with peppers and corn spiced up with chili and cumin

Fresh tomato salsa with diced arugula, garlic, and red wine vinegar

Creme Fraiche

Brown Rice- Rice Cooker

Vermont Cheddar

All piled onto a Whole Wheat tortilla (warmed in the oven)…delicious and dinner was on the table less than 30 minutes after walking in the door.

Image

Delicious, healthy and quick!

Image

Image

 

Play with your food! Change it up and fill your burritos with whatever makes you happy! Also, next time you go to a party, don’t forget to BYOBurrito!

xo, SW and Sweet P

 

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BYO-Burrito

Leave a Reply

