Dried Apple Chips

 

Image

I received another gorgeous bushel of apples from Pachamama Farm in Ossining, NY.

Image

I made apple sauce, apple butter, and apple chips and I STILL had apples left over!! If you have a dehydrator, you have probably done this before. I don’t have one but was able to get that chewy texture from a few hours in a low oven. This is a great recipe to make with your kids. They can arrange the apple slices and handle the seasoning.

ImageDepending on the size of your oven, you can probably only make about 5 apples worth of chips. I can only fit 3 baking sheets in my oven.

I sliced 5 whole apples using my mandoline (you could do this with a knife but I wouldn’t recommend it…it will take a while!)

Note: The seeds fell right out as I was laying them out on the baking sheet so don’t worry about trying to remove them

Image

About a tbsp of cinnamon covered the whole batch

Sprinkle of Salt

Sprinkle of Sugar (optional)

Note: you could leave them totally naked and they are still delicious!

Image

Place apple slices in a single layer on a baking sheet lined with parchment. Let your toddler do the seasoning ;).  Bake in the oven at 275 for about 2 hours…check in and flip at 1 hour.

 

Let them cool on a wire rack.

Image

 

Enjoy this gorgeous fall weather, SW and Sweet P

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dried Apple Chips

  1. Pingback: Apple chips. A low fat sweet snack! | Chocolate Spoon & The Camera

Leave a Reply

