Quick Vegetarian Stir Fry

I went out to dinner tonight with sweet P and her bff, O. I threw this together for M when I got home (since I forgot to bring him leftovers.) I recently found a rice-maker at a tag sale for $1! I am obsessed with it but I have had to reach out to my Japanese speaking friends because the instructions/buttons are all written in Japanese!

Image

(I know, it could use a clean but the inside is pristine, I swear!)

A stir fry is a great way to use up vegetables and the formula is pretty simple. I had broccoli, peppers, garlic, ginger, jalopenos, celery, and tatsoi (see my veggie ID below.) I throw some rice, water (2:1), salt, and oil in my rice cooker and set it to start…by the time the rice is done, the whole meal is ready to go.

Image

You can sub basically anything for anything in this recipe. Have fun with it and use what you have. The basic bones are veggies, ginger and garlic help a lot, hoisin sauce, rice wine vinegar (optional), honey, and rice. You can add tofu if you like it (and have it in the fridge)…adds a little protein.

Heat your cast iron pan and add some oil. Throw in diced Celery, diced Peppers, Diced Jalapenos (I took the seeds out but you could leave them in for extra heat), onions would have been really good here if i had some.. and saute until browned a bit.

Add the broccoli

Add diced ginger and diced garlic. Cook until you can smell the garlic. Try not to burn the garlic!

Add 1-2 tbsp Hoisin 

about 2 tbsp Rice Wine Vinegar

and about 2 tbsp-1/4 cup of chicken stock (or water) to thin out

I add a dash of honey here but it is totally optional…i just love honey!

Image

Add tatsoi at the end and put the top on the pan. This lets the tatsoi steam and wilt.

Toss together to get coverage with the sauce. Taste. Pour over rice and serve. I had some sesame seeds (bought in bulk from the Park Slope COOP!) so I topped the whole thing with sesame seeds for some crunch. 

Image

 

Sweet P ate french fries for dinner tonight so she didn’t give this a rating… :O

 

Enjoy, SW and Sweet P

 

 

 

 

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quick Vegetarian Stir Fry

  1. Pingback: Quick Vegetarian Stir Fry | Sweet P's Kitchen- #beautifulfood

Leave a Reply

