Rose hip yogurt pannacotta

This is a fun recipe to make for kids because it requires very little stovetop time and they can taste every step of the way. I got the bones for this recipe from my favorite blogger, smitten kitchen

http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2013/04/yogurt-panna-cotta-with-walnuts-and-honey/

I tried this almost to the letter (using half and half and 2% greek yogurt and a lime instead of a lemon) and got a delicious result :

Image

A silky, white pannacotta that tasted so much like greek yogurt (in a good way!) It is seriously the easiest recipe so I decided to play around with it a bit. This time, I used whole greek yogurt and 2% milk and cream, since that’s what I had in the house.

With the help of sweet p and the Park Slop Coop, I located dried rose hips

Image

Rose hips are the fruit of the rose bush. They are orange-y red and look like mini tomatoes. They are often used to make jams, jellies, soups, and pies. They are super high in Vit C and because of that, are found in a lot of homeopathic cough/cold syrups. They also contain a lot of lycopene, the powerful antioxidant also found in tomatoes. We used dried rose hips. They smell awesome and turn everything a really nice orange-y color. I am thinking they might be awesome in a champagne cocktail…agreed?

I soaked about 1/4 cup of rose hips in 1/4 cup of boiling water. Drain the rose hip ‘tea’ into another bowl and discard the rose hips. I let the water cool a bit and then added the packet of gelatin.

In a saucepan, simmer 1/4 cup sugar, 1 cup milk and add the rose hip/gelatin/water mixture. Don’t let it boil.

Image

In a mixing bowl, add 1 cup cream and 2 cups whole greek yogurt (I found this at whole foods-not easy to find but 2% worked fine last time)

Image

(with the help of my sweet p)

Pour contents of the saucepan into the mixing bowl.

Add the juice and zest of 1 lemon and stir to combine

IMG_3326

Pour in to a greased cake pan/any flat round vessel will do. I grease my pans with Trader Joe’s spray coconut oil. Shake pannacotta and slam on the counter to release bubbles. Put it in the refrigerator until set (about 8 hrs or overnight). Turn out onto a plate, drizzle with honey and enjoy.

IMG_3402

You could also put the mixture into individual ramekins (like smitten kitchen did.) They set faster in the fridge (1-2 hrs) and look adorable.

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

