How to shop your local Farmer’s Market

Image

This is my “yay, I’m at a Farmer’s Market’ face!

Image

This is P at a farmer’s Market in San Fran…obviously enjoying herself!

They are magical places. The people that work there are knowledgeable and interesting. I have missed frequenting farmer’s markets since I got my CSA but we try to occasionally pop in anyway. Sweet P loves farmer’s markets because she always walks away with a few samples. I love them because they are affordable, fun, and full of #beautiful food. Don’t forget your reusable bags and some cash!

Start by taking a walk through. This way you can see all of the vendors and decide where you want to go from there. I like to scope out all of the treats so I can pick one for the end. Perhaps a sticky bun like this one, found in Londonderry, Vt?

Image

Next, check out the vendor’s signs and if they are not clear, ask the staff. You don’t HAVE to be a local farm to get a booth at a farmer’s market so make sure you are supporting your local farmers. Some farms don’t bother to get the organic certification but still practice sustainable, responsible growing practices. If you find a farmer that you like, and want to know more about their farming, practices ask them. It might be worth a trip to their farm to explore.

I don’t typically go to the market with a meal in mind. I go and see what looks fresh and beautiful and try to meal plan from there. I try to shop for heavy things first, since they will go on the bottom of my bags. If I see something particularly interesting, I mentally meal plan from there. I love the meat from “Gaia’s Breath Farm” in Jordan, NY.

http://www.gaiasbreathfarm.com/

I just picked up a Pork Shoulder from them at the Prospect Park Farmer’s Market in Brooklyn. I think about what would go nicely with braised pork. In this case, I would go for carrots, potatoes or other root vegetables, onions and garlic.

I love fresh baked bread and you can find really good bread at farmer’s markets in the NY area. I love Meredith’s Bread and their peasant loaf is delicious! It is not much more expensive than a grocery store brand, but is worth the extra $$. I buy two and freeze one. Freezing bread is such a great trick and the bread comes out perfectly if you just leave it on the counter for a a few hours to defrost. Or, if you buy sliced bread, take out a few slices at a time and toast them.

http://www.meredithsbread.com/MozillaOperaSafari.aspx

Here is a guide to local Farmer’s Markets

What to look for THIS WEEK (Oct 9) in your local farmer’s markets:

Celery, squash (acorn, delicata, kobucha), brussel sprouts, broccoli, the last of the heirloom tomatoes, kale and other hearty greens, potatoes, cool weather herbs like rosemary, thyme and oregano, apples, pears, and more!

– now that fall is here and winter is coming, there aren’t as many but you can still find them if you know where to look! The fall produce is great and is heartier so it can keep for longer (think apples, potatoes, squash, etc)

Wednesday: White Plains Farmer’s Market 8-1 on Court Street

Friday: The Ridge Hill Farmer’s Market in Yonkers 12-6

and New Rochelle’s Farmer’s Market 830-230 Hugenot Park

Saturday: Ossining Farmer’s market 8-1 Main street, ****also has a winter market

Tarrytown Farmer’s Market- 830-1 Patriot’s Park

Larchmont Farmer’s Market- 830-1 Chatsworth Train station parking lot

Mamaroneck Farmer’s Market 9-2 at St Thomas Church on Rt. 1*** also has a winter market

Sunday: Rye Farmer’s Market train station parking lot

Croton Farmer’s Market- 9-2 Lot off of rt 9

If you have a specific question about a market, post below in the comments section and I will feature the market and what it has to offer on the blog. I am also working on a veggie ID post since a lot of the big green leafy stuff can be confusing. Thanks for reading!

Until next time, SW and Sweet P

 

 

 

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

