Homemade Pappardelle

This recipe is so simple, I can’t believe this is the first time I have made these by hand. My sister just got a pasta maker for a wedding present so we decided to give it a go. There are some things that I say, ‘forget it, don’t do it from scratch…go to the store!’ I have even recommended the Trader Joe’s pappardelle to anyone who asks…I love it! However, this super simple recipe blows Trader Joe out of the water. I promise, it is worth it to make your own pasta. You don’t even need a pasta ‘cutter/maker’ for this. You could roll it by hand because it doesn’t have to be painfully thin. We used a pasta maker this time but next time, I will have to roll it by hand since I don’t have one (yet!)

Image

Homemade Pappardelle

1 cup flour plus extra for rolling (we used all purpose with germ purchased in bulk bins from the Park Slope Coop)

2 eggs (fresh and local please!)

1 tsp salt

water-just a sprinkle or two

Large Pot of boiling (generously salted) water for cooking the pasta

Combine flour and salt in a bowl with a whisk

Make a well in the center for your eggs

Image

With a fork, slowly incorporate the eggs into the flour in circular motions until a crumbly messy dough forms

This is where I needed a few sprinkles of water but depending on the weather, etc. your dough may be fine here

You want a slightly sticky but not wet dough that comes together in a ball

Divide into two equal pieces

Knead on a floured surface for a few minutes (maybe 3-4) until well incorporated- you want an ‘elastic’ dough…slightly springy and smooth

cover and put in the refrigerator for at least 30 mins (but up to 1 day)

Here is sweet P helping out by “wheeling the dough” as she called it-she ate about 1/4 of the raw dough and we STILL had enough to feed 5 people!

Remove dough from the fridge to a floured surface and flatten each piece into an oblong pancake

If you are using a pasta maker, feed dough through the machine

You can fold your flat piece of dough in half and feed it through again on a thinner setting until you get the desired thickness.

Image

We ended up with 4 long sheets of thin pasta

We hand cut them since our pasta maker doesn’t have a pappardelle cutter

Image

It doesn’t have to be perfect people, they all end up looking beautiful after a quick boil.
Place in a boiling water bath for about 3 minutes. Drain. I tasted to check done-ness and they were perfect at 3 minutes.

If you didn’t want you eat your pasta right away, toss with semolina (to keep them from sticking to each other) and freeze for up to 2 months.

I served mine with Beef Stew…coming up next!

Image

Organic Beef Stew over Homemade Pappardelle

Image

Isn’t P the cutest pasta maker EVER?!?! She told me the other day while I was making eggs (of all things!)…”mommy, you look like a chef today!” Ha!

Enjoy, SW and Sweet P

About Siobhan

My name is Siobhan and I live with my husband and our beautiful daughter in New York. I love real, whole, healthy food and I am passionate about biodynamic farming practices. I try to eat locally as often as possible and to support my local farmers.
This entry was posted in CSA Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade Pappardelle

  1. Pingback: Brooklyn Beef Stew | Sweet P's Kitchen- #beautifulfood

Leave a Reply

